Monday, September 24, 2012

Anderson's Young Adult Literature Conference

Anderson's Bookshop in Naperville is hosting its 9th Annual Young Adult Literature Conference this Saturday, September 29. It looks like a bang up line-up of authors.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 Free Webinars and Educational Community offers a wide range of free webinars for educators. It's an online social and learning community. The group recently announced a new relationship with LMC (Library Media Connection).

The complete lineup of upcoming webinars is available at

Fall 2012 Webinar Schedule
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 4pm / Eastern Time
Guided Inquiry Design: Inquiry and 21st Century Literacy Skills
Presented by: Leslie Kuhlthau Maniotes, PhD, administrator in the Denver Public Schools as well as a curriculum specialist and national consultant on inquiry learning.
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 4pm / Eastern Time
Ramping Up Reading with Technology
Presented by: Sue Kimmel, Assistant Professor, Teaching & Learning at Old Dominion University, Darden College of Education, Norfolk, Virginia.  She is nationally recognized for her expertise in literature and a former member of Caldecott and Notables Committees.
Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 4pm / Eastern Time
The Nuts and Bolts of What Common Core Means to You: The Ultimate Opportunity for a Critical Role for the School Librarian
Presented by: Kristin Fontichiaro, clinical assistant professor and coordinator of the school library media program at the University of Michigan’s School of Information.
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 - 4pm / Eastern Time
Social Networking for Schools
Presented by: Steven M. Baule, MLS, PhD, superintendent of North Boone Community Unit School District 200 in Poplar Grove, IL, and Julie E. Lewis, JD, partner with Klein, Thorpe & Jenkins, Ltd., Chicago, IL, where she concentrates her practice in school and municipal law.
Wednesday December 12, 2012 - 4pm / Eastern Time
The Nuts ‘n’ Bolts of Common Core: Building a Robust Program for Teaching Research
Presented by: Kristin Fontichiaro, clinical assistant professor and coordinator of the school library media program at the University of Michigan’s School of Information.

ISLMA Conference Sessions Posted

The ISLMA Conference is quickly approaching. You can start to plana your conference experience by checking out the listing of the concurrent sessions available on the ISLMA website. While you are at conference you can use the hashtag #ISLMA12 to share your conference learning and experience.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Upcoming Booklist Webinars on Nonfiction and Graphic Novels

Thanks to Sarah Hill for forwarding information about these upcoming FREE webinars from Booklist. If you register and you can't attend the event as it is happening, you'll get access to view the recording.

What's New in Series Nonfiction: Fall 2012
Learn what's going on in the world of series nonfiction with presentations from four of the top publishers in this booming field: Crabtree Publishing Company, The Creative Company, Rosen Publishing, and Scholastic Library Publishing. REGISTER NOW!
Tuesday, October 2

2:00 p.m. EDT / 1:00 p.m. CDT
12:00 p.m. MDT / 11:00 a.m. PDT
Getting Kids Hooked on Books
The weather may be getting cooler, but books are always hot. Representatives from ABDO Publishing, DK Publishing, James Lorimer & Co., and Listening Library will share books and media designed to spark reluctant readers' interest in reading—be it turning pages or pushing play. REGISTER NOW!
Thursday, October 11

2:00 p.m. EDT / 1:00 p.m. CDT
12:00 p.m. MDT / 11:00 a.m. PDT
Surprising Reasons to Go Graphic
Join the expert panel from The Graphic Classroom blog, Capstone, and Booklist Publications for a lively discussion about how you can build on kids’ fascination with graphic novels to meet learning objectives and enhance critical thinking skills, such as prediction and inference. REGISTER NOW!
Tuesday, October 16

4:30 p.m. EDT / 3:30 p.m. CDT
2:30 p.m. MDT / 1:30 p.m. PDT
Can't make the date? Register anyway so a link to the video archive of this webinar can be e-mailed to you after the event. 

Please note: As a webinar registrant, you will receive follow-up correspondence from Booklist Publications and may receive other special offers from our sponsors.

Monday, September 10, 2012

Booklist Webinars

Booklist and the American Library Association puts on wonderful, free webinars in a variety of topics.  Focused on school and public libraries as well as a range of ages, take a look and see what they have to offer.  You must register ahead of time and links can be found on our calendar.  Always register for the webinar, because if you miss it, they will send you the link to the archive for later viewing!

Saturday, September 8, 2012

TL Virtual Cafe is back for the new school year. This year's first session on Rocking the New Year on Monday. 9/10 at 7:00.

external image 7803310906_f4afe5d933_z.jpg

"Back by popular demand! A casual discussion to generate ideas on how to build school allies, support new teachers & become indispensable to admin & staff at the beginning of every school year."
Here's the participant link.

36th Day of Reading Conference

The 36th Day of Reading will take place on Saturday, November 3, at the Tinley Park Convention Center. The event features Gordon Korman and Carol Jago. There is also a pre-conference day on Friday, November 2. Information and registration can be found at: